RTI Declaration
Ethics and Code of Conduct
Policies and Procedure
Office Staff

Skill Based and Certificate / Diploma Courses
Academic Programme
Programme Outcome

Best Practices
About The IQAC
NAAC Grading

Institutional Information for Quality Assesment(IIQA)
DVV Clarifications


JSM is the oldest college in Raigad district. It was resolved in Konkan Development Conference held at Alibag on 17th July 1959 to start a Senior college for higher education at Alibag. Formation of JANATA SHIKSHAN MANDAL took place to start the college. Shri. Bhausaheb Lele was the first President of the mandal. In 1960 the responsibility was shouldered by the then Speaker of Mumbai region assembly Shri. Nanasaheb Kunte. Founder of Konkan Education Society Shri. V.G.Ranade was selected as Vice- president of mandal. The first Executive committee of the JSM consists of Shri. Kakasaheb Vaidya , Shri. Tulashidas Sheth, Shri. Sakharam Kunte , Shri G.B.Pandit, Adv. Datta Patil, Adv. Datta Khanvilkar, Shri Ravasaheb Naik, Shri. B.M.Mehta, Dr. Gangadhar Dhabu, Shri. S.R.Shelar and the first Principal of the college Shri. R.T.Kulkarni.

College was inaugurated by the auspicious hands of the then Pro- Vice Chancellor of the Pune University, Mahamahopadhyay Datto Vaman Potdar on 20th June 1961. 203 students from various parts of Raigad District were admitted in the first batch of the college in Arts , Science and Commerce faculties. and students appeared for the Third year examination as the first batch of the graduates of the college in the year 1965. Shri. Madhukarrao Chaudhary was present to give the Best Wishes to the students.

On 22nd January 1987, Loknete Adv. Datta Patil( Dada) , the then MLA of Alibag Taluka and the Leader of the opposition of the Maharashtra state was elected as Chairman of Janata Shikshan Mandal. Hon. Dada gave a perspective plan of development for the college. He has invited the young generation along with him on the board of Directors of the college. In the year 1990 Shri . Sanjay Datta Patil became the Secretary of the Mandal. Shri. Ajit Shah and Shri. Sanjay Patil took the pains and efforts to put the college on the track of development under the guidance of Loknete Adv. Datta Patil. Under the dynamic leadership of Hon. Adv. Datta Patil the college has reached to this stage of excellence. A good infrastructure of the college is developed and the professional courses like B.Sc., Computer Science, B.Sc., Information Technology, BMS, B.Com. Banking and Insurance, Post graduate courses like M.Sc. Chemistry, M.Sc. Botany, Ph.D. Centre for Botany M.A. in Marathi & Hindi, Ph.D. Centre for Hindi and Laboratories for Computer Science, information Teconology, Electronics Physics, Botany & Zoolosy are developed recently has been started during his tenure.

Adv. Datta Patil Law College was started due to the tireless efforts of Shri Sanjay Patil and Shri Ajit Shah along with other members in the year 2000. It is the first Law college in the Raigad district. College was inaugurated in the Presence of Hon.Dr. Bhalachandra Mungekar, Vice - chancellor, University of Mumbai.

Now Shri. Sanjay Datta Patil is shouldering the responsibility as President of Janata Shikshan Mandal along with Shri Ajit Shah as the Secretary. They are leading the college with a new vision towards the excellence in accordance with new technology and the needs of the stakeholders. A new well equipped administrative building of the college has been developed recently. Shri Sanjay Datta Patil is the recipient of prestigious Indira Gandhi National Award conferred by National Unity Conference , New Delhi for his valuable contributions in the field of education in the year 2001.

Ours is the only college in the district which has received the ‘The Best College Award’ for N.S.S. activities in the year 1999-2001 at University level, State level and National level ‘Indira Gandhi Award’.

Recently the college is Re-accredited by National Assessment and Accreditation Council ( NAAC) Bangalore with ‘B’ grade.

The college is recognized by UGC under 12(B) and 2(f) and eligible to get the UGC grant in aid for college development.

© Copyrights Reserved by JSM || Developed & Maintained by TechnoVision! 2023 || Monitored by Mr. Kundan Sawant